Posted by: Jina Bacarr | April 16, 2012

TITANIC RHAPSODY Weekend Day 4: April 16, 2012 Titanic: Tribute to the victims and survivors

 

Here’s a glimpse of my Titanic blog for today at Jolyn’s Blog–read the entire post HERE.

TITANIC RHAPSODY Weekend with Jina Bacarr and Jolyn Palliata

Day 4: April 16, 2012 

Titanic: Tribute to the victims and survivors

It is typical of me to poke my Irish nose where I shouldn’t. Take the Liberty Bell in Philadelphia. Everywhere on a prickly spring day back when I was a first grader, the nuns bustled about, running after their charges and trying to keep them together. Little girls in green uniforms and pigtails. Me among them. 

The Sister of Charity in charge gasped loudly, then blessed herself when she saw me drag my finger down the crack in the famous bell, then made me say five Hail Marys for my sin. 

I did my penance, but I was secretly pleased I had “touched” history. And that’s how I’ve been ever since. Touching history in my own inimitable way, whether it’s up close and personal visiting museums and historic sites or writing about it in my novels. 

Bringing you the story of the Titanic from its inception to the sinking is my way of sharing what I know about the grand ship and bringing it to life for you. Today we shall honor the victims and survivors of the tragedy.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, no official passenger list for the Titanic exists, but the U.S. Senate Inquiry Report compiled what they considered to be the most comprehensive list of those who survived and those who didn’t. Now that you’ve lived the experience of Titanic, here are some stats to put it in perspective for you.

The numbers speak for themselves.

First cabin ladies and children had the highest survival rate with 11 lost out of 156. First class men didn’t fare well with only 54 saved out of 119; second class men had the lowest survival rate of both passengers and crew percentage-wise: only 15 out of 157 men survived. Second class women and children did better: 24 were lost out of 128 on board.

And what about third class? A total of 710 steerage passengers boarded the Titanic at Southampton, Cherbourg and Queenstown. The women and children numbered 224 and the men 476. Less than half the women and children were saved: 105 survived compared to 119 lost, while the third class men suffered great losses: 69 men saved: 417 lost to the sea.

The male members of the crew suffered the most as far as sheer numbers: only 194 male crew members survived with 682 lost. Nearly all the female crew members (20 stewardesses, 2 cashiers and one “matron”) survived: 20 out of 23 on board.

But the stats don’t tell the whole story. Here are stories of passengers and crew whom we know were lost. Some you’ll recognize because their fame precedes them, while others share the distinction of having been aboard the Titanic when she sailed.

==========

Click here to read the rest of my Titanic post at Jolyn’s Blog.

Make a comment on Jolyn’s blog to enter a drawing to win a copy of

TITANIC RHAPSODY!

Leave a Reply

Categories

